LitBirthdays October 18, 2010

Tweet us today with author birthdays!

================

Monday October 18

Jan Erik Vold (b. 1939) – Norwegian poet Jan Erik Vold

Read about Jan Erik Vold here

Hokusai the old master, who painted a wave like
nobody ever painted a wave before him

Hokusai
lived
close to 90. When he was 75
years of age, he said

of his pictures:  I started drawing
objects when I was
6. What I accomplished
before 50 is of no

merit. When I was 70
I still hadn’t
produced
anything good.  At the age of 73

I reached an understanding
of the basic
shapes of animals
and plants. When I’m 80, my understanding

will be deeper, and when I’m 90
I shall
know the secrets
of my art

to the core — so when I’m 100
I shall come up with
praiseworthy
pictures. Not to mention

the years
after that.
The main thing now
is to keep going.

Read “A Bottle-born Letter for Robben Island” (scroll down for English) here

…I send my letter in a bottle
to be thrown
into the water.
Provided there is an ocean.

Listen to Jan Erik Vold perform his jazz lyric poetry with Chet Baker

About litbirthdays

researching author birthdays
This entry was posted in authors, books, famous birthdays, literature, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

